Our Story

Westhab was founded in 1981 to address the affordable housing crisis in Westchester County. In our early years, we acquired vacant buildings and renovated them into quality transitional and permanent housing. In response growing homelessness, Westhab expanded its focus to renovate and operate shelters in Westchester.

As our organization grew, we looked for ways to improve entire communities by engaging resident leaders and neighborhood stakeholders. Always intent not just on addressing the problem, but working to find a solution, Westhab began to provide employment services and youth programs, supporting families to break the cycle of poverty. We also undertook ground-up development of attractive, new affordable housing residences, including housing targeted toward seniors, veterans, young adults, and the disabled.

Today, our housing and social services combine to create a comprehensive community development approach—not just in Westchester, but also in New York City where we have recently expanded, developing affordable and supportive housing, operating homeless shelters, and providing youth programs and employment services.

Westhab is—Building Communities. Changing Lives.

Leadership Team

Andrew Germansky

Andrew Germansky

Vice President, Real Estate Development
andrew.germansky@westhab.org
Joanne Dunn

Joanne Dunn

Assistant Vice President, Youth and Employment Services
joanne.dunn@westhab.org
Valerie C Smith

Valerie C Smith

Assistant Vice President, NYC Housing Programs
valerie.smith@westhab.org
Ken Belfer

Ken Belfer

Senior Vice President, Housing
ken.belfer@westhab.org
Patricia Vitelli

Patricia Vitelli

Vice President, Finance
patricia.vitelli@westhab.org
Elissa Ramos

Elissa Ramos

Assistant Vice President, Westchester Housing Programs
elissa.ramos@westhab.org
Jim Coughlin

Jim Coughlin

Senior Vice President, Services
james.coughlin@westhab.org
Jinja Cuevas

Jinja Cuevas

Director of Human Resources
jinja.cuevas@westhab.org
Nancy Riedl

Nancy Riedl

Director of Development
nancy.riedl@westhab.org

Board of Directors

Jesse Krasnow

Chairman

Robert H. Petrocelli, Jr.

First Vice Chairman

Cesar Pereira

Second Vice Chairman

William Frey

Treasurer

Jefferson Boyce

Secretary

Evans Anderson

The Rev. John P. Duffell

Ken Hanau

David Katz

Jonalie Korengold

Frederick K. Mehlman

Richard St. Paul, Esq.

Stephen D. Quinn

Seth L. Rosen

Paul Turovsky

Ayanna C. Wayner