Our Story

Westhab was founded in 1981 to address the affordable housing crisis in Westchester County. In our early years, we acquired vacant buildings and renovated them into quality transitional and permanent housing. In response growing homelessness, Westhab expanded its focus to renovate and operate shelters in Westchester.

As our organization grew, we looked for ways to improve entire communities by engaging resident leaders and neighborhood stakeholders. Always intent not just on addressing the problem, but working to find a solution, Westhab began to provide employment services and youth programs, supporting families to break the cycle of poverty. We also undertook ground-up development of attractive, new affordable housing residences, including housing targeted toward seniors, veterans, young adults, and the disabled.

Today, our housing and social services combine to create a comprehensive community development approach—not just in Westchester, but also in New York City where we have recently expanded, developing affordable and supportive housing, operating homeless shelters, and providing youth programs and employment services.

Westhab is—Building Communities. Changing Lives.

Leadership Team

Ken Belfer

Ken Belfer

Senior Vice President, Strategy and Planning
ken.belfer@westhab.org
Andrew Germansky

Andrew Germansky

Senior Vice President, Real Estate
andrew.germansky@westhab.org
Maureen Natkin

Maureen Natkin

Vice President, Development
maureen.natkin@westhab.org
Tracy Rhett

Tracy Rhett

Asst. Vice President, Youth and Employment Services
tracy.rhett@westhab.org
Jim Coughlin

Jim Coughlin

Chief Operating Officer
james.coughlin@westhab.org
Nicole Mylan

Nicole Mylan

Asst. Vice President, NYC Family Housing Programs
nicole.mylan@westhab.org
Valerie C Smith

Valerie C. Smith

Asst. Vice President, NYC Singles Housing Programs
valerie.smith@westhab.org
Patricia Vitelli

Patricia Vitelli

Senior Vice President, Finance and Administration
patricia.vitelli@westhab.org
Jinja Cuevas

Jinja Cuevas

Vice President, Human Resources
jinja.cuevas@westhab.org

Steve Myrthil

Vice President, IT

steve.myrthil@westhab.org

Elissa Ramos

Elissa Ramos

Asst. Vice President, Westchester Housing Programs
elissa.ramos@westhab.org
Stephanie Viola

Stephanie Viola

Asst. Vice President, Accounting
stephanie.viola@westhab.org

Board of Directors

Jesse Krasnow

Chair

Robert H. Petrocelli, Jr.

First Vice Chair

Cesar F. Pereira

Second Vice Chair

Jefferson C. Boyce

Secretary

Paul Turovsky

Treasurer

Betsy Hills Bush

The Rev. John P. Duffell

James Foy

Al Gutierrez

Ken Hanau

Daniella Jackson

David Katz

Jonalie Korengold

Daniel Magidson

Frederick K. Mehlman

The Rev. DeForest L. Raphael

Seth L. Rosen

Richard St. Paul, Esq.

Nicola Standard

Ayanna C. Wayner